Thread: Hello from an Old (but Disappeared) Member

Default Hello from an Old (but Disappeared) Member

Hi Everyone
    I just wanted to pop in and say hi. I've been a member of this forum for a number of years but haven't made any jewellery for at least 7 years or so. Life happened and then one thing or another lead to me not wanting to make anything and to me disappearing from the forum.

I've had all tools and materials packed away in boxes for quite a while and just this year, I've been thinking about making again. The tools have started to make their way out of the boxes, the cogs are turning and I can already hear the bank account moaning at me as I look at how much everything costs these days. Yes, I've been under a rock.

I'm looking at possibly getting into chainmaking and using Argentium silver. I have limited experience of the former and none of the latter so not quite sure how I'll get on but will give it a go. I still don't have a proper torch set-up and will continue for now using the little butane kitchen t

I hope everyone is well. I have lurked for a little bit before saying hi and I thought it was about time I popped my head round again.
    Best wishes to you all
    xx
    Indi

Hi Indi, and welcome back. Chains made with Argentium are beautiful and white. You just have to bear in mind that this version of silver can't stand disturbing in any way while glowing red, or it will fall apart.

Below is my bracelet made with it. Dennis.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Bc3 And Here.jpg  

Thanks, Dennis. I'm glad to see you're still here
    Thanks for posting your bracelet. It reminds me of paper chains made at Christmas time and is indeed it's a lovely white colour. I like the domed rings you used for the links. Did you solder or fuse, please? I've had a practise making a chain in 2mm copper wire with 4 solder joints to create 1 link. I might post that separately and ask questions about best method to construct in Argentium.
    Indi